Welcome to R. Bruce Carson Jewelers. Our store is all about heartfelt emotions. We demonstrate it in the way we treat our customers and reach out to our community. It is important to us that we interact with each customer to exceed their expectations. In many cases, we develop relationships that turn into long-lasting friendships. We hold dearly the trust that each customer places in our hands when they bring their treasured keepsakes for us to work on and the integrity in honestly representing the quality and value of each piece of jewelry. Likewise, we place high value on our community and since our inception in 1902, R. Bruce Carson Jewelers has been involved in a whole host of organizations and agencies that contribute to the health and well-being of our community. Every year we donate to organizations that promote health, education, and the arts across our community.
Our current owner has been involved or chaired many charitable organizations such as Hospice of Washington County, the Board of Trustees Hagerstown Community College, Hagerstown-Washington County Industrial Foundation, the United Way of Washington County, the Washington County Museum of Fine Arts, The Washington County Economic Development Commission, The Greater Hagerstown Committee, The Washington County Chamber of Commerce, Grace Academy among others. He was recognized as Chamber of Commerce Small Business Person of the Year in 1996, the Chamber of Commerce Business Volunteer of the Year Award in 2005, the Jesse Kaegle Award for United Way in 2008, and Herald-Mail Person of the Year in 2012. We are a family-owned guild jeweler founded in 1902 by Robert "Bruce" Carson and currently owned by Tom Newcomer. Since our beginnings, we have been known throughout the region for excellent quality jewelry and giftware. We are a member of the American Gem Society and one of the most knowledgeable full-service jewelry stores in the region. Our staff of gemologists, jewelers, and watchmakers has over 135 years of collective experience, and our jewelers and watchmakers work in our Hagerstown stores.
Carson Jewelers features the area’s largest selection of loose diamonds and diamond jewelry, including the finest 14K, 18K, Platinum diamond, and color gemstone jewelry from many well-known designers. Swiss watch lines, known worldwide for their quality, precision, and craftsmanship, are also part of our inventory. We also carry an extensive line of giftware, including crystal, silver, fine boxes, and more.
R. Bruce Carson Jewelers was founded by Robert "Bruce" Carson in 1902. Bruce Carson owned the business until 1949. From the onset, Bruce Carson had a vision to bring rare and unique treasures to this area. Among these were a display of jewelry owned by Czar Alexander II, rare Phoenician glass dating from 200 BC, and an array of silver and other giftware that comprised one of the finest collections in this part of the country at that time.
Upon his death, he left the business to Jacob Bare and Leon Gross. Jacob Bare held the store until he retired in 1976 and sold the store to Charles Newcomer. Charles Newcomer retired in 1994 and the business is now owned by his son Thomas Newcomer.
Carson Jewelers maintains its commitment to offering the area's finest jewelry and unique giftware. It has always been a full-service jeweler with staff including jewelers, gemologists/appraisers, and a watchmaker. Carson Jewelers is a member of the American Gem Society, Jewelers of America, IJO(Independent Jewelers Organization), and is one of the nation's oldest members of the Jewelers Security Alliance.
The old clock in front of our store in downtown Hagerstown’s Public Square has been with Carson Jewelers since the early days of the business. The Howard Clock Company originally built it in Boston in 1908. It first stood at the original store site at 40 West Washington Street in Hagerstown, Maryland. In 1929, the clock moved with Carson Jewelers to the Alexander Motor Lodge.
Until 1945, the clock's mechanisms were spring-powered and a Carson employee needed to hand wind the clock. At that time, Potomac Edison took ownership of the clock and switched it to electric mechanics. Once cleaned and reassembled, it was placed at its current home in Public Square in front of Carson Jewelers.